Page 1 of 1

batch convert bin to ascii

Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 9:15 pm
by Irmina
Hi
I was trying to do a conversion of bin files to ascii using -C_EXPORT_FMT option in Command Line. There was no error reported but no ascii file was created. Can you explain why?
Irmina

Re: batch convert bin to ascii

Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:23 am
by daniel
Well the C_EXPORT_FMT is just used to choose the output format (for clouds). Each time you apply a process the modified cloud/mesh is automatically saved. But there's no official way to output a cloud without processing it right now.

You can use a 'fake' processing (like a subsampling with almost 0 as min distance between points) to generate the same cloud and make CC save it automatically:

Code: Select all

CloudCompare -O myfile.bin -C_EXPORT_FMT ASC -PREC 12 -SEP SPACE -SS SPATIAL 0.000000001
I'll add an option to explicitly output clouds or meshes "as is" to the TODO list.

Daniel

Re: batch convert bin to ascii

Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2014 9:04 am
by daniel
For the records, the next version (2.5.4) will have a new option to do this properly: -SAVE_CLOUDS (and -SAVE_MESHES).

Re: batch convert bin to ascii

Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 2:09 pm
by OMG20Centz
Dear Daniel (or any other cc enthusiast),

I'm looking for a conversion tool that i could use to convert ply files into pcd.
The GUI command works perfectly, but is pretty long dealing with my 1779 files.

I tried the command line with something like :
CloudCompare -O MyFile.ply -C_EXPORT_FMT PCD

But as you probably chuckled about, it didn't work.
Is the option available through the command line ? Is my flag wrong ?

Working with v2.6.3beta on Ubuntu14.4

Re: batch convert bin to ascii

Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 6:34 pm
by daniel
The problem here is that PCD input/output is handled by a plugin. And plugins are not supported by the command line tool yet.

But in fact this kind of I/O plugins could perfectly be handled by the command line... I'll see what I can do.

Re: batch convert bin to ascii

Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 8:09 pm
by daniel
Okay, this will be available in the next version (soon)!

Re: batch convert bin to ascii

Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 1:49 pm
by OMG20Centz
Great, thank you Daniel !
Looking forward beta-testing it :-)